Louisiana Colonial Governors: Spanish Period 1766-1803


Louisiana Colonial Governors: Spanish Period 1766-1803

Colonial Governors: Spanish Period 1766-1812

Antonio de Ulloa
• 1766-1768
Antonio de Ulloa was the first Spanish governor of Louisiana, and served under King Charles III.
• The French colonists rebelled against Spanish authority in 1768 and demanded his departure.
• Sailed to Havana, Cuba

Alejandro O'Reilly
• Governor 1769-1770
• King Charles III appointed O'Reilly to quell the rebellion of 1768.
• In his brief administration, he reorganized the colony and emphasized fairness to anxious French colonists uneasy about Spanish rule.

Luis de Unzaga
• Governor 1770-1777
• Unzaga was appointed by O'Reilly who left in 1770, and served under King Charles III.
• Continued policies to strengthen ties between French colonists and Spanish administrators.

Bernardo de Gálvez
• Governor 1777-1785
• Galvez served under Charles III and improved upon Unzaga's policies.
• Worked to increase commerce and trade.
• When Spain declared war against England, he supplied Americans with arms, and captured all British posts in West Florida, which gave Spain the possession of both East and West Florida after the war.

Esteban Rodriguez Miró y Sabater
• Governor 1782-1792
• Miro served under Charles III and Charles IV.
• Interim governor while Galvez was in Cuba from 1782 to 1785, and was appointed Governor in 1785.
• During his term, Spain allowed trade with France and the French West Indies and removed the duty on ships for two years which contributed to the development of New Orleans as an international port.

Francisco Luis Hector de Carondelet
• 1791-1797 Governor.
Francoise-Louis Hector,
• Carondelet served under King Charles IV.
• Native of France, he was also a loyal Spanish army officer and governor.

Manuel Gayoso de Lemos
• Governor 1797-1799
• Gayoso was appointed by Charles IV because of his ability to speak English and his knowledge of colonial politics.
• He died from yellow fever in 1799.

Francisco Bouligny
• Acting military governor July 18, 1799 - 18 September 18, 1799
• Born 1736
• Died 1800

Sebastian de la Puerta y O'Farril Marquis de Casa Calvo
• Governor 1799-1801
• Casa Calvo was appointed by Charles IV as an interim governor after Gayoso's death.
• He was a Spanish army officer and native Cuban who governed during the tumultuous times.
• Spain and America were in conflict over free navigation of the lower Mississippi River; and Napoleon tried to force the return of Louisiana to France.

Juan Manuel de Salcedo
• Governor 1801-1803
• Salcedo served under Charles IV and battled his government over the rights of Americans to navigate freely down the Mississippi River below Natchez.
• He left for a post in the Canary Islands after he officially transferred the colony to France on November 30, 1803.

William Charles Cole Claiborne
• Territorial Governor 1803-1812
• Democrat/Republican
• President Thomas Jefferson sent Mississippi Territorial Governor William C. C. Claiborne to New Orleans to formally accept the transfer of Louisiana from France to the United States.
• Claiborne was assisted by Gen. James Wilkinson in administering the territory until he was named as the first Governor of the Territory of Orleans which is now the state of Louisiana.