Pasco New Orleans Workshop

May 9 - May 11, 2008

National presenters presented activities closely related to the implementation of  the Chevron Grant, "Energy for Learning."  Among the presenters was Dawn Warren, a national teacher of the year.  The workshop also featured science teachers and national presenters from Ohio (Jason Carnes), Texas (Gary Nicholson),  and California  (Jeff Arrigoti and Korey Champe).  The workshop was held at the Renaissance Pere Marquette Hotel, 817 Common St. in New Orleans. 

The activities featured familiarization with the technology, which is a central element of the grant.  Science activities from the 3rd grade through the 12th grade included the integration of  probeware technology in lessons correlated to the Louisiana curriculum.

 

 

Demo experiment:  variation observed in the flux when a magnet is dropped into a coil
    
      .

 

 

Participants included:

Teacher Name School Name email
Roland Pautz Central Office rpautz@vrml.k12.la.us
Jude Dubois Central Office jdubois@vrml.k12.la.us
Elizabeth Ball Herod 5th grade eball@vrml.k12.la.us
Leah Trahan Herod 4th grade lstelly@vrml.k12.la.us
Monica Morsei Herod 3rd grade monicac@vrml.k12.la.us
Nanette Delcambre Erath 5rth grade nanette@vrml.k12.la.us
Stephanie Broussard Erath 8th grade stephpb@vrml.k12.la.us
Erin Landry NVHS elandry@vrml.k12.la.us
Jennifer Frick NVHS jfrick@vrml.k12.la.us
Christina Menard AHS cmenard@vrml.k12.la.us
Valerie Bouillon AHS  
Brad Vincent GHS bradv@vrml.k12.la.us
Fran Granger FIEB fgranger@vrml.k12.la.us
Simpson Gnadigo EHS simpsong@vrml.k12.la.us